What Is A Real Blessing ? Part Two

There is only one thing that God will bless you for which is just for you…..your relationship with Him. That is the one thing that you cannot fully share with anyone else. He is with you 24/7 and you could never explain to anyone else just how much He means to you. I like a song in Indonesian that says “no painting, no words, no poem is beautiful enough to explain my walk with you”. He does want you to talk about it so that others may know Him but the only ‘REAL BLESSING’ in life is revelation of God himself. Everything else is just a distraction.

If you haven’t read it already, grab a copy of ‘The Prayer of Jabez’. It’s a great book about how to pray to God for blessings ( I like the kids version best ) Basically, when you pray just ask God to bless you in whatever way he sees fit to make your life more productive for His kingdom. Remember Solomon, he prayed for wisdom to lead his people and God gave him all his hearts desires as a bonus. ‘Seek first the kingdom of God and all ‘other’ things will be added unto you’.

Here’s an illustration of how this works. Think of the most important thing you own. Or even 5 things you own. Now imagine that tomorrow there was a change of government in your country and the new leader stated that anyone born with your eye color was now considered a foreign citizen and had no rights. The piece of paper that tells you own those things is now irrelevant.

‘Oh…but I have my family, I’ll be ok’….Sorry but any one of us could loose our family to fire, accident, murder etc, etc, etc at any moment right ? So then there is your health. Check up at the doctor at 5pm. 4:30 everything is hunky dory and by 6 o’clock your told you have cancer and 5 weeks to live.

WE DON’T HAVE ANYTHING EXCEPT GOD !! When you realize that blessings take on a whole new form. But don’t fear, He is a good God and ‘all things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purposes’. It may not be easy to see that when you are in the midst of a problem but God is always with you, there are things you just have to go through so you will hold onto Him with both hands and never let go. Job is one of my favorite bible characters. I have tried very hard to develop my relationship with God to the point where I can say ‘ The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away’ I have no claims on what God should do in my life but I love Him and trust Him and will try my best to follow Him diligently wherever He leads my, no matter what the cost.

GBU

Leave a Reply

