My Love, Hate Relationship With Money – Part Two

I have done several significant things with money in my life.

1) Blown every cent I can get on pointless, self destructive things. Accumulated huge debt and gambled away large sums of money. For a long time I was almost a carbon copy of my father but then I met my wife and began to change. I realize that there are still attitudes about money that I have that are left over from the old me. I am afraid of being financially successful.

2) Before I got married, I taught private lessons after work ( 3-4 times a week) The money was very good and I used it to save up for my wedding. After we got married, the money was still good (LOL) so I kept doing it. When my wife got pregnant, the money from private lessons was essential. After my daughter was born, it seemed more essential. One day I left for work before my daughter woke up. When I got home in the afternoon, she was sleeping. I showered and changed and went to teach privates. By the time I got home, she was asleep for the night. I called my private students and told them I would be finishing at the end of the month. I PUT MY FAMILY TIME BEFORE FINANCIAL SECURITY AND ALWAYS WILL.

3) My wife and I went through the mental wringer trying to decide what to do as our 2 year rental contract was expiring. We looked at moving closer to the school I work at ( http://www.citahati.org/ ) and struggled when we found out that there was no way we could get a bank loan as I was the sole wage earner and a foreign citizen, therefore there was no way for us to buy a house. We were looking at paying 2 years rent in advance (the common custom here) and throwing all that money away on rent. BUT GOD IS A GOOD GOD, He answered our prayers and we were able to begin paying off a house. Completely above our understanding but God did it. It meant that we were paying 40% of our income on house payments. The next thing we did was buy a car on hire purchase. There goes another 25%. So before we had paid for milk, nappies, immunization, water, electricity etc. 65% of our income was gone on house and car payments. BUT WE TRUSTED GOD. Maybe the car was our own stupidity and God didn’t intend us to have it BUT HE MADE THAT OK TOO. We had never thought of how long we would be paying most of our income into the house and car. Things were very, very tight and we often had to juggle bills over several months. BUT I still didn’t sell my family time by going back to teaching privates. When my new contract came around, my wife and I were saying how great it would be if my salary went up 5%. How it would take the pressure off. I called my wife straight after I received my new contract with a raise of 30% !!

4) The last significant thing I have done with money was in the past few weeks. I am determined to be disciplined and not feel regret because we often pay only a portion of our tithe because we fear there will not be enough money left. I have organized for a savings account for my daughters. We are paying extra off our loan and we will put our tithe at the top of our budgeting column. God comes first !! We may struggle financially, we may not be blessed with lots of money to travel and buy a new hot water heater BUT we will do what we know is right with our money. Be disciplined and ask God what to do with it.

Look for future testimonies about how God looks after my family because we put Him first. Amen

God Bless You

2 Responses to My Love, Hate Relationship With Money – Part Two

  1. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

  2. gefs says:

    Thanks for the comment Suzanne. Its great to know that someone has been helped by the site. If you haven’t already, check out yearn4god,com , join the forum, check out the projects etc.

    God Bless You

Leave a Reply

