Grow or Go Stale

Surabaya is a pretty dull place. There are no parks, no beaches (clean enough to go to), no museums (worth visiting), and not a whole lot to keep you entertained. There is a zoo that is worth ONE visit in a lifetime, and there are malls, lots of malls.

I have been in Surabaya for over 8 years now. I have a friend who was living in Kalimantan and moved to Surabaya about 2 years ago. When he arrived, he was 137kgs. Since getting here he has started and left an online teaching degree (due to a major fee rise), started and nearly finished a personal training course, lost 23kg, built up a very popular web site ( WWW.disciplineorregret.com) and continued to raise his son and develop his relationship with his wife.

He has encouraged me a lot and recently I have joined a gym and revamped my eating habits. At one stage I started an online degree but gave it away in the face of the realization that I would have to devote a lot of time to it over a four (+) year period. I am keen to do some study or learning but at the same time I am quite content to devote my time to being the best father I can be to my two daughters and the best husband I can be.

I have been in a bit of a slump at work lately and have devoted a lot of time and prayer seeking God’s will for what I should do. I have always trusted God and my main prayer has been that it should be His will, not mine that takes precedence.

I travel over 45 minutes each way through very congested and polluted traffic to get to work and it seemed there would be an opportunity to move to a location that was literally 5 minutes from my house. Yet I still was very determined to do His will and not my own. I am very willing to suffer and do things that may seem to create a circumstance of disadvantage for myself and even my family because I know that if it is His will, it is the only thing worth doing.

Just recently I received an answer to my prayer. It wasn’t the answer I was expecting, it wasn’t even an answer I had anticipated. I am looking forward to a very challenging year ahead and I pray that I can ‘work hard at work worth doing’.

When you find yourself in a rutt, ask yourself “ What am I doing ? Are you learning and growing ? Are you taking every opportunity you can to develop yourself ? What can you do to make your circumstances work for you ? If your do not grow, you will go stale !! If you are not learning and developing and facing new challenges and experiences, your very nature will cause you to become bored and unhappy. Rectify this, be aware of your situation. Too many people get depressed and malcontented because they don’t realize that they don’t have anything in their life except monotony.

Life is about seasons. There are hectic seasons and there are quiet seasons. Seek His will for your life in every season. Look for the advantages, the positives. What can you learn today ? A quite season is usually a time of preparation or reflection. If you are not getting ready or realising what it is you need to realise, you may end up in your quiet seson for a long time.

“This is the true joy in life, the being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; the being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; the being a force of Nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy”

GBU,Gef

Leave a Reply

