Western Education – Part One

Growing up and being educated in Australia, I was a very independent and critical teen. I was gifted to have an education that prized student learning, independent of teachers, problem solving and being outspoken. I grew to have a very argumentative nature and enjoyed battling wits with all and sundry. I would often take a side of an argument, and use my critical thinking skills to drive the argument to victory or stalemate, even though I knew the case was weak or even down right wrong.

This ‘powerful mind’ and sense of ‘being righteous’, having the right to represent a point of view, irrespective of others point of view or the soundness of the view, is common in western society. People’s right to think, believe and act as they please is held in very high regard. We train our youth to analyze situations from many angles. This is good in the sense that it creates very powerful critical thinking and problem solving skills, as well as empathy.

The problem is: we end up with children who can find holes in most arguments, who are critical and have a very strong sense of ‘wanting to learn things for themselves’. These youths often grow up to rebel against their elders and society in general because they feel they have the ‘right’ to discover life for themselves. They can justify whatever they do with the reasoning that ‘It’s my life.’

The factor missing is the knowledge of right and wrong. We teach our youth that there are many possible choices in life BUT we fail to teach them that there is a definite right choice. Education without faith can only direct children to the view that they can anticipate an outcome but the best way is probably to ‘give it a go’ and see what happens. You can’t put an old head on young shoulders after all. Boys will be boys and so on.

Oh how I wish I knew God when I was young. Life was so lonely back then. Drinking, drugs, rebellion, looking for love in all the wrong places, it only led me to destruction. I know there are so many lost kids, teenagers and adults in my home country of Australia that are struggling to get through life on their own strength. I just wish they were taught the truth. Secular education doesn’t teach you the one thing you really need to know…God loves you ! God bless you, Gef

Leave a Reply

