My Ride to Work

I ride my motorcycle 45 minutes each way to work. I pass through the city of Surabaya with its estimated (or underestimated) population of 5.5 million. The traffic is heavy and the pollution awful. During the rainy season it floods and for the whole year it is a hot trip.

Along the way I pass people, young and old, who are struggling to survive. I spent a long time battling with my desire to help these people. I prayed over and over again “Lord, why do you send me to a school for children who are well off ? A place with air conditioners and computers, where most of the kids arrive in Mercedes and spend their holidays in 5 start hotels?”

My desire was to get into the street and feed people and teach them and love them. God answered my prayer very clearly. He told me that what I was called to do IS helping those people. I come to work and teach the ‘well off’ kids so that as they grow up, they will change the way things are done and help those less fortunate than themselves.

We are each called in a unique way,

1 Corinthians 12: 27Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. 28And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues.

If you do not live, work and serve in line with your calling, you will not have a truly fulfilling life. It is like wearing clothes that are too small, it’s just not comfortable. The body of Christ needs to work together. We each use our spiritual gifting and talents to serve as God intended us and together we will accomplish God’s will.

It is easy to want to do everything, to see a need and want to fill it. It is harder to do His will and trust that He has the grand plan under control. We are merely cogs in the machine. With faith, obedience and diligence, we can be part of the establishment of the very kingdom of God itself. That is worth getting out of bed in the morning for isn’t it?

God bless you

Leave a Reply

