Critical VS Comprimising

It’s amazing how much inner dialogue I have on a daily basis criticizing other people. On my drive to work I am constantly swearing at and abusing people’s driving skills. Throughout the day I deal with students who I often find fault after fault with. My coworkers are usually too noisy, not professional enough, late, unorganized, annoying and so on. Even my wife and kids do things that I find annoying. I seem to find fault wherever I look.

But when I turn my critical powers on myself I realize that I am just as bad. One of my pet hates is teachers arriving at school by motorbike without helmets on or via an illegal shortcut. My thought is “ How can they expect the students to listen to what they say about obeying rules when they blatantly don’t themselves.”

If I was to analyze my drive to work each day, I am sure I would find many illegal maneuvers and so, who am I to criticize? The bible tells us that when we see a believer sinning we should help them to understand the error of their ways BUT it also tells us …..

Luke 6:41-42 (Amplified Bible)
41Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye but do not notice or consider the beam that is in your own eye? 42Or how can you say to your brother, Brother, allow me to take out the speck that is in your eye, when you yourself do not see the beam that is in your own eye? You actor (pretender, hypocrite)! First take the beam out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye.

Where do we begin to compromise? When do we turn a blind eye and mind our own business? When do we take a stand and point out the faults in others? If we do take a stand, are we being overly pretentious and righteous? If we don’t take a stand are we lax in our duty as a member of the body of Christ? Would anyone listen to us anyway?

I think the answer is that most of us have given up any expectation that people will do the right thing. We constantly ‘turn a blind eye’ and even lower our own standards to make life easier and get along with others. The way people, even (or especially) Christians live in the world is clearly not in line with God’s expectations and yet we have been desensitized to it. How righteous are we supposed to be? As righteous as Jesus was!!!

James 5:16 (Amplified Bible)
16Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].

Don’t compromise your salvation! Don’t belittle the price God paid for your salvation! Find a confidant and confess your sins. Beg for God’s mercy and get on with your life in the knowledge that He has forgiven you and even though you cannot live right, just striving to is enough….He will do the rest.

God Bless You

2 Responses to Critical VS Comprimising

  1. Brian Gomez says:

    Nobody is perfect. The only one who can understand others completely are them as well. We all get pissed if someone complains on us right?? Well thats life!

  2. gefs says:

    Hey Brian,
    Thanks for your comment. Funnily enough I don’t usually get annoyed when people criticize me. I tend to see most criticism as a valuable thing. It helps me to understand where my faults and weaknesses are and I can work to improve them. Ofcourse the person it is coming from and the way it is delivered make a big difference.

    I also believe that when we get to heaven we will all be judged individually. No one knows how much grace anyone else has got. Hence, one person might be able to do something and be ok in God’s eyes or easily forgiven and another might do the same thing not have the same luxury.

    God alone judges. GBU

Leave a Reply

