Skeletons

I was reading a news report about a swimming coach who was charged with having sex with a 15 year old girl. The act took place in the 1970s when the man was in his 30s. He is now 65 years old. Not far away from that there was an article about a Nazi concentration guard who was being sentenced over his role in the running over concentration camps in the 1940s. Yet another article was about a woman who was sentenced for killing her husband in the 90s. An advancement in DNA technology made it possible for her to be convicted.

It made me thank God that I don’t have any skeletons in my closet. I have done so many stupid things in my life but there are none there to ‘haunt’ me. I make a point of confessing all the things my wife ‘needs’ to know. I am honest with her and before we were married I didn’t try to deceive her about who I was and what I had been through in m life. Quite the opposite in fact, When I accepted Jesus, I used the mistakes I had made in the past to add weight to my salvation testimony.

There was one event in my past that had always left me with an uneasy feeling. There was no closure. I wasn’t sure if the other party involved remembered or had forgiven me or still held a grudge. About a year ago I was confronted with it. It wasn’t easy, other people I cared about found out about it and it was an embarrassing time.
Still, I am glad it happened. It was brought into the open and dealt with.

A testimony I heard once related this kind if thing to a rotten tooth. If you ignore it the rot will spread and cause more problems. If you do some superficial cleaning and just cover it up, there is a fair chance you will end up with more problems at a later date. You need to dig out the infection, cut into the sick and healthy skin, root out all that is rotten. It’s a painful process but once it is done you can be sure that the wound will heal cleanly.

I thank God once again that I have never done anything that can come back and destroy my life. All those times I have been tempted, all those chances to do something stupid, all those times I have actually done stupid things and His hand has kept me safe.

I saw a documentary about people in the projects in America. One guy had been to jail several times but the focus of the story was about how he was trying to turn his life around. He got a job, was studying and doing community service work. Then, out of the blue, he was arrested for an old warrant. He faced jail again for something he had done years before. The judge looked at the things he was doing to turn hi life around and decided to dismiss the old charges.

What is your ‘judge’ thinking about you? Does He have cause to be proud of you or for concern ?

Get right with God and stay that way !!

2 Responses to Skeletons

  1. Peter Park says:

    We shouldn’t let the shame and guilt of our sin hold us back. As Christians we must remember that Christ died for all sins not just the ones that were forgiven when we first accepted Him.

  2. gefs says:

    So very true. I often illustrate this point by asking the following question :

    If your whole life was a dvd, every action, you loved and respected most viewed it?

    My answer is ‘NO’. I have done lots of embarrassing and stupid things during my life that should bring shamebut the blood of Jesus has washed me clean.

    The apostle Paul summed it up when he said that he had the blood of no man on his hands. Paul was a multiple murderer and even killed Christians but that was BEFORE he was saved.

    My point in the post is not about what we are in God’s eyes, we are ‘whiter than snow’ (if we have been saved. The point is about guilt and not being forgiven, not being redeemed for something we have done. It is also intended as a reminder that we need to be careful, the wages of sin are death and there is no expiration date. Our actions bear consequemces.

    God Bless You and thanks for your interest

Leave a Reply

