Tithing

If you are asking for verses to prove to you that you should tithe or you want someone to explain to you why you have to tithe then your heart is in the wrong place.

The reason you tithe is because you love God and He is your number one priority. It says “God, I love you and I trust you. You have given me everything I have and it is an honor for me to give a portion of it back to you.” If you have $100 a week coming in and you say “I don’t have enough money to tithe” you would almost definitely say the same thing with $1,000 a week.

I listened to someone share once and he said “Yeah well, when my tithe was only a few hundred dollars a month it was easy to give but now my tithe can be tens of thousands of dollars, it is hard to give away that money when you realize it could but a house!!”

It doesn’t matter how much money you have. Without God it is worthless. It doesn’t matter if you have to or don’t. What matters is that God should be your number one priority. If by tithing you cannot afford to get a new car, don’t get a new car!!

There are many benefits to tithing. When you break the power money has over you, you become capable of prioritizing your life correctly…1st God, 2nd family, 3rd work, 4th ministry (for most). You can also truly see how God looks after you and provides for you. And you get to be a part of doing God’s work and building His kingdom.

God Bless You

11 Responses to Tithing

  1. Stephen Davis says:

    Your message is for the rich. Entice your heart out. Leave the Gospel for the poor.

  2. steward says:

    I don’t know about you, but looking for verses to prove the truth about the tithe seems to be a righteous inquiry. There should be no embarrassment for researching a biblical topic just because it’s about money. Who are we to judge whether or not someone’s question about tithing is based on greed or their curiosity for truth?

    • gefs says:

      I agree completely steward ! Thanks for your comment. I think I wrote my post the way i did because I had just had a personal triumph. I spent a lot of time, prayer and thought trying to decide IF I should tithe but then I had a breakthrough. I decided that God was the most important thing in my life and it wasn’t a question of IF, I WANT to and I do it out of a joyful heart which I believe is the most important thing.

      GBU

  3. gefs says:

    Hi Stephen Davis,
    I don’t understand what you mean by saying

    ‘Your message is for the rich. Entice your heart out. Leave the Gospel for the poor.’

    I don’t think tithing has anything to do with being rich or poor, I believe it is more about prioritising. Do you put your worldlty posessions before God or not? I think we all need to lean on Him and not on our own understanding (or budgeting)

    GBU

  4. hendra says:

    It says “God, I love you and I trust you. You have given me everything I have and it is an honor for me to give a portion of it back to you.”

    You know… I truly understand that this is the TRUTH… and I tried to do my best to give tithe to God…even though sometimes I fail to do it (this and that)…but what has been my experience is this; when I don’t do it right, when I think that I could use some money that I should have given to God to provide for my needs and stuff, the money is not enough…but when I tried to surrender everything and truly give tithe…God provides the best for me & family and we can manage to get to the end of the month…God is great.

    • gefs says:

      I SO agree with you !! God provides for you and even if you can’t add up or see the difference, it is there. Maybe someone in your family might have gotten sick or your car would have broken down and these things don’t happen. My favourite belief is that God just gives you more peace and contentment about what you have. When you trust Him and you put your finances in His hands, you give up all the stress that goes with trying to make ends meet. It’s great.

      GBU

  5. Tony Isaac says:

    Hi,

    I apologise in advance if I seem to pour cold water on your testimonies but God definitely takes care of His own! Tithe or no tithe! No amount of money you give to ‘God’ can prove your love for Him. That is definitely not the gospel.

    Gefs am afraid that you have not provided any scriptural evidence to back up all that you have said. Nowhere in the bible are we told that tithing breaks the power money has over us, that’s just a man made philosophy to guilt trip people into giving. This takes us far away from the grace we obtained through the blood of Jesus into a religion where we try to please God by works and acts of sacrifice. Your giving NEVER commends you to God.

    I will end by saying that not because a thing sounds good and reasonable then it is God ordained and not because a thing seems to work then it is right. In Christianity, we are not supposed to make judgements based on personal experiences but on what the scriptures say.

    God bless.

  6. gefs says:

    Hey Tony,
    Thanks for your comment. I completely agree that God takes care of you no matter what and that we cannot get Him to love us any more (or less) no matter what we do.

    I re-read my post and I think I failed to illustrate my heart properly. I don’t think giving money to God is trying to ‘prove your love for Him’ but I find a great benefit in proving to myself that God is more important to me than money.

    I live in a country where 3% of the population are incredibly rich and the vast majority are very, very poor. Around 50% of the population do not go past elementary school and every day I see small children begging on the street. I often find myself doing my budgeting using my maths and so I conclude that I don’t have any extra money for anyone else.

    BUT when I determine to put others first I find that God gives me a ‘peace that surpases understanding’. I develop my gift of giving because I realise that I have a selfishness and a consumerist nature that may well take over if I don’t actively keep it in check. I think that is also what I meant with ‘tithing breaks the power money has over us’.

    I am very critical of the prosperity message and the tithing message. I don’t always give my tithe to my church, I pray about who God wants me to give it to. It is not always 10%, sometimes it is more. I am sure that some do try to ‘guilt trip’ their congregation into giving and some also have hidden motives when it comes to money. My only point is to share a strategy that has worked for me in making God my number one priority.

    I know there are a lot of denominations and beliefs out there but I was interested in your comment :

    “In Christianity, we are not supposed to make judgements based on personal experiences but on what the scriptures say.”

    I believe that the bible is the word of God and that it is infallible but I also believe that our relationship with God and His spirit that lives in us are equally important in forming our Christian life.

    Finally, I would like to say that I appreciate your comment and recognize that it is very sound. I pray that through this interaction we have both been made a little richer and I trust that ‘His ways are higher than ours.’ May God bless you richly and use you as a light among others.

    Your brother in Christ, Gef

  7. Tony Isaac says:

    Oh, now I understand what you mean. Being selfless with our money. In the light of that I do agree with you. It is just that after all the abuse and extortion in the name of tithing or putting God first et all, one tends to take a very dim view anytime it is mentioned. That being said, if one makes a personal decision to tithe one’s income unto God, thats fine as long as it is not done under compulsion or as a means of receiving more from God (works).

    Thanks a lot for the kind words, i really do appreciate them and may the good Lord bless you too.

  8. gefs says:

    Hey Tony,
    I was rereading this thread of comments and I have a verse to ‘amen’ what you have said previously and hopefully consolidate my thoughts :

    2 Corinthians 9 – Sowing Generously

    6Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.

    7Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

    8And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

    12This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God.

    13Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else.

    14And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you. 15Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

  9. eliteinchrist says:

    Hi Gefs, those were my sentiments exactly.

    Can I just quickly wish you and your family a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

