Once Saved Always Saved ?

So how do you get your salvation ? Once you are saved can you loose your salvation ? Who is saved and who is not? Can everyone be saved ? What about the thought that different religions are just different ways for people to get close to God?

What are your thoughts and beliefs ? Please leave a comment.

7 Responses to Once Saved Always Saved ?

  1. fireball3316 says:

    hi – i wrote a post on this some time… here is my thoughts…

    http://onepassiononedevotion.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/once-saved-always-saved/

    i know it is cheating to post a link :o) sorry…

    blessings, fireball

  2. Rogue76 says:

    Perhaps better term would be Once truly saved, always saved. Only God and the person can be sure of how truly saved someone else is. And if you truly have been saved, and the Holy Spirit is within you, you cannot deny God. Perhaps everyone can be saved, but not everyone will choose to be saved. Jesus is the Truth, The Way, and the Light. No one comes to the Father except through Christ.

  3. pali says:

    Hi Gef, I’ve been a Christian for a good while, and here is what I’ve come to believe:

    I believe you get your salvation by 1) acknowleging you are a sinner, 2) believing Jesus is the Son of God and who died for all sin, and 3) accepting Jesus’ death as payment for your sin and accepting him as your Lord and savior.

    I don’t believe that a saved person can ever lose their salvation. Nothing in the bible suggests that. Jesus died for all sin. I believe if a saved person sins, he will suffer the same earthly consequences as the unsaved. Additionally, God says he disciplines his children, just as an earthly father disciplines his children that he loves. It is impossible for anyone not to sin, saved or unsaved. That’s why we need Jesus.

    As for all the different religions, the Bible teaches without question that Jesus is the only way. There are a lot of people of various faiths who aren’t very familiar with the actual beliefs of their faiths, and who are saved because they believe In Jesus and have accepted him as their Lord and Savior.

    Here are some supporting scriptures:

    Q: Once saved, always saved?

    John 10:27-30 “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater then all, no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.

    Matthew 18:21-22 “Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, Lord how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times? Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times””.

    Q: Who is saved and who is not?

    1CH 28:9 “…for the Lord searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts. If you seek him, he will be found by you; but if you forsake him , he will reject you forever.”
    Pr 20:27 “The lamp of the Lord searches the spirit of a man; it searches out his inmost being.”

    Q: Can everyone be saved? How do you get your salvation?

    John 3:16-18 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. Fo God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.”

    Q: Are different religions different ways to get close to God?:

    John 14:6, Act 4:12, Romans 5:10, 6:23, 1Thessalonians 5:9, 2Timothy 2:10, 3:15, Titus 2:13-14, Hebrews 1:3, 2:9, 5:9, 9:26-28, 1Peter 1:9, and many more!

    • gefs says:

      Thanks pali for your very interesting and well written comment. I agree with most of what you said but one part caught my eye :

      “I believe if a saved person sins, he will suffer the same earthly consequences as the unsaved”

      What are the ‘earthly consequences’ ? Death ?

      As far as I can work out, those who are saved by the blood of Jesus are no longer under the law and so recieve no consequences (from God) for their sins. This is because the blood of Jesus was the final sacrifice to atone for our sins. We will all face the final judgement and none of us can say “Well God, I have been good enough to get into heaven” or even “From the time I was saved I have been good enough to get into heaven” All we can do is say “Jesus is my Lord and I have been washed clean by His blood” There is NO mark left from any of our sins, we are white as snow.

      Very interesting topic, I would love to hear your opinion on it. God bless you, Gef

  4. pali says:

    Thanks Gef for your reply. I totally agree with you that we are no longer under the law and will not be judged for our sins when we stand before God.

    As for “earthly consequences’, I wanted to point out even though “once saved always saved”, it isn’t advisable to go on a sinning spree. If we sin, we still suffer consequences here on earth, just the same as anyone else. For example, a saved person begins to drift, starts dealing drugs, and gets arrested. He will still be saved, but he will do jail time and afterwards endure the hardships of being a convicted felon. Of course, God may choose to intervene at some point or to some degree, but they have still suffered consequences.

    For nonbelievers; that’s why God commands us not to sin. Not because “I’m God and I’m gonna make some rules”. It’s because he loves us, and knows what’s bad for us. He wants us to be content and live life abundantly. Sin causes pain, stress, depression, and destruction – not only to ourselves, but often to others as well. Also, since God is perfect, sin is the reason we are currently separated from him.

    Great topics Gef, and God bless you! 🙂

  5. gefs says:

    Amen, very we;; put once again pali.

    God bless you too m8

Leave a Reply

