Work Ethic

There are 9 people in my department and their work ethic, professionalism, ability, attitude and character are all very different. Some of them do a very superficial job and spend their day watching youtube clips and movies. Others work hard yet struggle to understand concepts and updates themselves on common practice and methodology. They are honest and hardworking but find it difficult to change their old paradigm for a new one. Then there is one who has a lot of natural talent and ability, he manages his duties and things run well but he tends to dispose of his responsibilities and fill most of his day with personal stuff.
As the head of the department I need God’s wisdom so much. What is it that God WANTS ? Yes, there is the LOGOs of His word but there is also the RHEMA for want He wants to happen in the life of every individual. I am ever aware that I am blessed to be working in a Christian organisation. When conflict and difficulty arises I find strength in the Lord and His word. When a member of our team was absent and another became disgruntled by the fact that she had to cover hi load I told her that it wasn’t fair but :
1) Remember the story of the man harvesting his crop. Some workers started in the morning, some a few hours later, some a few hours after that and some just before the work day finished. When he paid them all the same the workers who had started in the morning complained.
This story has been a great comfort to me. I have often fumed because others cruise through their day and I work as hard as I can nearly all the time. BUT I realised a few years ago is that all I need to concentrate on is myself. If you do a good job, people will know and if you do a bad job, people will know. More importantly, your father in heaven knows and WE ARE CALLED TO DO OUR WORK AS THOUGH WORKING FOR THE LORD HIMSELF.
2) The parable of the talents in Matthew 25: 14-30. We will all stand face to face with Almighty God and be called to give account for what we did with the gifts He gave to us. I don’t think “ Oh, but God, they weren’t paying me enough” or “ I would have worked harder but my bosses just didn’t inspire me enough” or ANY excuse will do.
3) Finally I leave you with a quote I live my life by :

This is the true joy in life, the being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; the being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; the being a force of Nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.” George Bernard Shaw

Or as a friend of mine once said “ I’d rather die young from exhaustion because of serving the Lord than die old from falling over in the shower “

God Bless You !!

Leave a Reply

