Its amazing what God will give you IF YOU ASK !!

Just the other day I was thinking about my wife and how her heart is for ‘helping people’, mine is too but I also know I have a calling to preach God’s word. I looked back on 2009 and I know we had a very passive year in our walk with God. I has a semi conscious thought that I would like to use my spiritual gift for speaking the Word of God this year as I have already had a revelation that 2010 will be a year were my family and I bear a lot of fruit for God’s kingdom.

The very next day I got a call from a small satellite church that I once visited asking if I could come and preach in 2 weeks time. I have never preached at a church before. I have preached at orphanages and at the retreats  but never at a church. The following day I got the morning devotion schedule at work and saw that my name is there for next Friday.

2 Corinthians 9 – Sowing Generously

6Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

When I pondered once if we should have a 2nd retreat I was faced with a dilemma. Do you wait for the ‘rhema’ of God to tell you what to do or do you go out and do the ‘logos’ knowing that He will bless every good work ? I came up with the analogy that God wont give you ammunition until you are going to battle. You can train and prepare but you have to step up to the firing line. Sometimes, as I have experiences so many times, you are literally at D-day before you get the things you need from God . But He always comes through.

8And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

I don’t have much on my heart for my sermon or my devotion next week but I look forward to fasting and seeking God’s will. I am going through a spiritual battle. I have had thoughts of doubt about being able to preach anything of worth, concerns about preaching in Indonesian, and just general worries about not being ‘good’ enough. But when God filled me with the realisation that I am just a vessel and His spirit dwells in me and desires to work through me, I had an OVERWHELMING sens that God was with me and NOTHING could stand against me.

I am so glad I have stood up and asked God to give me MORE, to let me DO MORE and I am so excited about the fruit I can bear for Him.

12This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God. 13Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else. 14And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you. 15Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

AMEN !!

Leave a Reply

