How can I disconnect from the rat race? I know there is no satisfaction in working to get a bigger TV and new car. My wife and I are stuck between paying off our house, so we have something for our future, and giving it all away to spend our days with our children, being a family.

But when we contemplate a future of waking up when we please, spending our days as a family, eating together, being together, home schooling our kids, being free to do ministry work, having the time for study and generally enjoying life, the problem comes up of ‘how will we earn money ?’ We plan and we think and we discuss and it feels like we are trapped as wage earners, hoping for our next pay rise so we can pay of our house in 5 years instead of 10. By which time we will have to buy a new car and send the kids to higher education and so will be trapped like a mouse in one of those exercise wheels going round in financial circles.

So what does God want from us ? I have written before about the idea of secluding myself from society and spending my days in relationship with God. But my conclusion was that we re called as Christians to ‘infect’ others with our faith through interaction with them. (Matthew 5:16 In the same way, let your light shine before men. Then they will see the good that you do and praise your Father in heaven.)

I think it all comes back to WHY we work. I teach where I teach and love teaching so much because I truly believe I can make a change in the country of Indonesia through what I do. I see a massive gap between the haves and have nots and believe that if I work with these kids, they may just go out and make Indonesia a little more just. If we do work just for financial gain and to satisfy our consumerist desires, it is all in vein.

Habakuk 2:13 13Behold, is it not by appointment of the Lord of hosts that the nations toil only to satisfy the fire [that will consume their work], and the peoples weary themselves only for emptiness, falsity, and futility?

This leads to a constant struggle I have. How much do we spend on ourselves ? How much do we give away? Do we really do what we do to glorify God or because we can’t find another way of making a living ? Am I working to provide my children with a future or is my working depriving my kids with a present with their father ?

GBU

Leave a Reply

