DEVINE APPOINTMENTS AND LITTLE REMINDERS – Part One

A friend of mine gave me a voucher for a free month gym use. I have been wanting to get back to the gym for quite a while so I was very happy to go along and sign up. I met with a sales rep and had an evaluation. Even though I watch what I eat (most of the time) and exercise every day (a brisk walk or a 15 minute swim) I am still considerably overweight. I weight 98kgs and have around 30% fat composition. I know I haven’t been doing as well as i could with my weight but I often despair a bit as I am a lot more disciplined and active than a lot of other people and they don’t seem to struggle as much as I do.

It occurred to me as I sat down to write this that there is another point I can make here. It is easy to get out of shape (physically and spiritually) We can figure we are doing ok. We eat reasonably well and do some exercise and if we look around we can see lots of examples of people who are much more unhealthy than we are. But this is a dangerous and artificial safety mechanism. We may read our bible everyday, go to church, attend a prayer group every week and feel like we are in decent shape. If we look at our neighbour who claims to be Christian but holds wild parties every Friday night we may feel safe and secure. But we are not called to measure ourselves by the world’s standards. Every now and then God lets you know how out of shape you are. He reminds you about the speck and the log. When the magnifying glass gets turned on our own spiritual condition it can be a very humbling experience.

There are two things we can learn from this experience.

Number one : Be humble and thankful. It is the blood of Jesus that has saved us and we were not saved through our works. We all fall short of the glory of God and yet we have been redeemed. Show the same grace to others as we were shown.

Number two : Race hard !! A good friend of mine started a website www.disciplineorregret.com He says there are two types of pain : the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. Don’t find yourself face to face with God and a feeling of regret that you could have done so much better, so much more. Life is short, use every drop of grace as though it is your last. Jesus has done it all to save you and make you the righteousness of God. Now go out and live righteously, doing His will on Earth.

God bless You, Be a light today !! Amen

Leave a Reply

