John 15

Here is a summary of the radio sermon I gave last week. I was asked to preach at very short notice but didn’t hesitate to say yes. As I have experienced many times, even though I had no idea what to share and only 24 hours to get ready, He anointed me and inspired me and all went well. Praise God!!
Please remember that they are notes so you may have to do some interpreting and fill in the blanks yourself. GBU

John 15 The Vine and the Branches
1 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. 3 You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.
5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6 If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

So we need to remain in Him and bear fruit…..Sounds reasonable. I think all Christians want to remain in God’s love and if we look at Romans 8:38 – 39 it should be impossible NOT to remain in Him.

Romans 8:38 – 39 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
So what can separate us from God’s love ??????

Genesis 3:8-10 Adam hides from God
8 Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the LORD God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the LORD God among the trees of the garden. 9 But the LORD God called to the man, “Where are you?” 10 He answered, “I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.”

-Adam was hiding from guilt and shame. What was God doing ?looking for Adam
-God didn’t say “ What have you done? Get away from me you filthy sinner”
-Jesus’ blood has atoned for all the sins you have committed, are committing and will commit…HIS grace is enough
-There is nothing you can do to make Him love you less, there is nothing you can do to make Him love you more.
-But the devil wants you to be aware of your sin so you forget about your power.
The only thing that can separate us from God’s love is if we don’t choose to repent and receive His forgiveness when we mess up.

Eye Gate, Ear Gate and The Battlefield of the mind
John 15 :7
If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

The devil doesn’t want you ‘to remain in Him’ and ‘bear much fruit’ that’s why he tries to get you to sin and uses your guilt to keep you from returning to the Father’s love.

God defeated the devil when Jesus was crucified, the devil is still here to be our sparing partner. A fighter uses a sparing partner to help them get stronger as our faith gets stronger when we resist sin and temptation.

You are not strong enough to resist the devil on your own, hence you have to “Remain in Him”. The devil prowls around like a lion looking for the weak to prey on. Stay close to your protector.

James 4:6b – 7 “God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.”
7 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.
Resisting the devil is not enough, you have to “Submit yourselves, then, to God.” As well.

Bearing fruit
John 15 : 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.

Pruning can hurt and be uncomfortable

Hebrews 12 :4 – 7
In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. 5 And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, 6 because the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”
7 Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? 8 If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all.

My favorite bible verse is 2 Peter 1: 3- 9 because it says that we have to ‘make every effort’ to be better people. It doesn’t say we have to be perfect. His grace makes up the difference.

2 Peter 1: 3- 9
His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. 4 Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

5 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6 and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7 and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. 8 For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.

THE PRIZE
2 Peter 1: 3- 10 Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, 11 and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
keep your eyes on Jesus.. it is not for he who runs the race til the end

POINTS
1)What can separate us from God’s love ? Jesus’ blood has atoned for all the sins you have committed, are committing and will commit…HIS grace is enough
2)There is nothing you can do to make Him love you less, there is nothing you can do to make Him love you more.
3)But the devil wants you to be aware of your sin so you forget about your power. If you are concentrating on your sin you won’t be able to BEAR MUCH FRUIT.
4)7 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.
5)Endure God pruning , make every effort ,Keep your eyes on the prize

Leave a Reply

