The End is Nigh

end-of-the-world-is-nigh--007

I remember a guy who walked around the local Saturday market in my home town with a sign similar to the one in the picture above. We all laughed at him and thought he was crazy. I was unsaved then. Or is that my excuse?

I am saved now. But do I do enough to let people know the truth? I do a lot of ‘soft evangelism. I will share with anyone who is open. But is that enough?

It dawned on me this morning as I read Ezekiel 33 that it is not enough to be saved. I spend FAR TOO MUCH time concerned with my own salvation and personal spiritual growth. In fact, I get caught up on ‘Am I a good boy? Should I do this? Should I do that?’

I spend so much time focused on myself that I am not being as effective as I could be. Even when I do things for God or for others, I calculate it as ‘how am I doing’.

As Christians, do we go with the status quo? Do we try not to rock the boat? Are we radically different or even prepared to be if God challenges us? 

We may find that when we reach heaven God says to us that we scrapped through by the skin of our teeth but He would have been much happier if we had taken some risks for Him. Even worse, He may say “I never knew you”

Ezekiel 33

Again the word of the Lord came to me, saying, 2 “Son of man, speak to the children of your people, and say to them: ‘When I bring the sword upon a land, and the people of the land take a man from their territory and make him their watchman, 3 when he sees the sword coming upon the land, if he blows the trumpet and warns the people, 4 then whoever hears the sound of the trumpet and does not take warning, if the sword comes and takes him away, his blood shall be on his own head. 5 He heard the sound of the trumpet, but did not take warning; his blood shall be upon himself. But he who takes warning will save his life. 6 But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet, and the people are not warned, and the sword comes and takes any person from among them, he is taken away in his iniquity; but his blood I will require at the watchman’s hand.’

If we had the mindset that securing our own salvation was not enough, our salvation might be a lot more secure. As people who know the truth we are responsible for helping those that don’t. If we don’t try hard enough their blood could be on our hands.

Be a watchman for you generation. Lord knows they need it. GBU

Leave a Reply

